New To Karting, Need Some Direction:

Information & Questions about karting in general.

Moderator: Bob Schabel

Nawaaz Ismail

New To Karting, Need Some Direction:

Post by Nawaaz Ismail »

Hi all,

Looks like Karting will be a completely new world to me. I'm willing to try and see if this is something that will work out.

I reside in Plano, and I'm 27 years old, married and have 2 small kids.

What brings me to your club? Well, I've been tracking my own street car(s) for close to 3 years now on some road courses around the state (HPDE events), and I don't know if I'm going to continue with it or not (addiction), and it can be a costly hobby. The problem is that I feel that I have this competitiveness (much like many of you guys) and I can't get rid of it... And tracking my own street car is getting expensive, as mentioned.

I realize that some of you can give me good guidance to see if Karting is for me.

I don't mind coming over to see one of your races / practices which may be taking place in the very near future. I've heard that one may offer a test-ride to help me get a better feel of things.

I'm keeping an open mind and am ready for any of your pointers which you may be able to direct me with.

And if this Karting idea doesn't work out for me, at least I know that I learned and did not lose anything by trying.

Much appreciation for all of your help, in advance.

By the way, my nickname is: Sonny
Last edited by Nawaaz Ismail on Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nawaaz Ismail

Re: Need Some Direction, Please:

Post by Nawaaz Ismail »

... Just got off the phone with Bob yesterday evening.

Thanks so much for the call and all the detailed info to so many of my questions, Bob.

See you this Saturday @ 10 A.M. for an intro to the sport and a test-ride.

Hope this all works out for me because I'm seriously thinking of giving up my actual car for the sake of this hobby (will get the wife a car for herself instead), haha... :wink:

Sonny
Eric Kinn